Those snack time treats

Not sure how many of you know but over the summer I gave up meat and decided to go vegetarian.  Why? When I would eat the meat I not feel good.  I decided that feeling was not worth it.  Originally I said let me give it up for a week and see what happens.  One week turned into two then into a month and now almost 6 months later I couldn’t feel better.

When I begin to tell someone that I do not eat meat the get overly worried and concerned that I am eating NOTHING! I promise you to the moon and back I eat food and plenty of it.  Today, even though when I would have a ‘snack’ it wasn’t a meat product, I am going to share with you some of my favorite in between meal snacks and a few of their benefits 🙂  The snacks will be shared in alphabetical order.

Share with me in the comments what some of you favorite between snacks are.

apple_2312343b
Apple
– Gala, Red Delicious, Golden Delicious, Granny Smith, Rome, Pink Lady…there are so many kinds of apples out there.  My favorite is the Granny Smith.  I love putting either peanut butter or almond butter on slices.  Apples are packed with Vitamin C which is a natural antioxidant.  They are also an excellent source of fiber.  The high fiber amount can help with disease prevention.  What type of apple is your favorite?

image001This has been one of my favorites for a long time.  It doesn’t matter if they are red, pink, or white.  When I first started eating grapefruits you would find me eating it with a ton of sugar on top.  Back in the day, I was not able to handle the sourness of the fruit but knew I LOVED to eat it!  I have since ‘grown up’ and realized I do not need any of that extra sugar in my life and love the grapefruit just the way it is (I feel like singing a little Bruno Mars after typing that!).  If you are going to love this fruit as much as I do make sure you know that the acidic level is high in case you suffer from acid reflux!  You should also not eat this if you take certain cholesterol medications.  Grapefruits are PACKED with Vitamin C which helps to support your immune system (maybe it can help you fight off that winter cold!).  It also contains lycopene which is a cancer-fighting compound.  To top it off, this super healthy fruit, also aids in digestion.

kind_bar_darkchocolatenutssalt_2Another one of my favorite snacks is the Kind Bar from kind_bar_peanutbutterdarkchocolate_2KindSnacks.  These bars come in so many different varieties including Peanut Butter Dark Chocolate, Cranberry Almond, Almond & Coconut, Dark Chocolate Nuts & Sea Salt, Apple Cinnamon & Pecan, and Cashew & Ginger Spice to name a few.  They now also make Healthy Grain Bars and Healthy Grain Clusters which is like granola.  Their products are made from all-natural nuts, fruits, and grains.  Your body will be filled with essential protein, fiber, antioxidants, and vitamins.  The two in the photo are some of my favorite flavors.

indexIsn’t the kiwi such a cute little fruit?  I know I would eat them when I was younger and then I think I became afraid of them.  Why, I am not really sure.  But now I LOVE them!  They are a little sweet and a little tart.  On a scale of 1-10 in tartness, if a grapefruit is 10 I would say this is a 3 or 4.  Kiwis taste great by themselves, juiced, or even made into a smoothie (with other ingredients of course!).  For such a little piece of fruit they are packed with vitamins, minerals, and fiber!  They are also a great antioxidant.  Were you ever or are you currently afraid of any fruit or food? This morning on Facebook I saw this article posted about the Kiwi.

temp_file_luna-bar-caramel-nut-brownie1Another one of my favorite sweet snacks is the Luna Bar.  There are 3 different types including the regular, protein, and fiber and they are all delicious!  The regular Luna Bar comes in 15 different flavors including Blueberry Bliss, Caramel Nut Brownie, Chocolate Peppermint Stick, and S’mores.  The protein variety comes in 7 flavors including Chocolate, Cookie Dough, Lemon Vanilla, and Mint Chocolate Chip.  And finally the Luna Fiber comes in 3 flavors including Chocolate temp_file_luna-bar-blueberry-bliss1Raspberry, Peanut Butter Strawberry, and Vanilla Blueberry.  Choosing a favorite flavor is not easy as they are all super delicious!  These bars are packed with calcium, iron, vitamin D, and folic acid.  This is one treat I am always well stocked up on because I know I can count on it to give me that little boost of energy, fill my sweet cravings, or just put a smile on my face.  I never feel guilty after eating one of these!

images
The pear is one of my new recent favorite finds.  I do not know what made me steer clear of this super juicy piece of fruit but I am sorry I did for most of my life.  In fact, yesterday I had one that was so juicy I couldn’t keep the slices in my hand!  Pears can help lower your cholesterol and look at that they are also a good source of fiber!  They are a good source of natural energy as they contain high amounts of fructose and glucose.  The pear comes in may varieties including Bartlett, Green Anjou, Bosc, Comice, and Concorde.

PFP-Bars-box-hq_16cf5100-9cf3-4a4f-80c8-66dafca3bbcb_1024x1024

Next up is the Perfect Fit Protein Bar from my favorite trainers Karena & Katrina of Tone It Up.  For those of you that know me know how much I love the TIU brand! To be honest, it took two tries of this bar for me to fall in love with it.  Unfortunately, right now these can only be bought online via the link above but hopefully one day we will all be lucky enough to find these on store shelves!  I love to eat these as an in-between snack or a post workout treat.  They are 100% organic and contain chocolate chips and peanut butter.  What better combination?  They are sweet enough to fill any little craving of chocolate you may have.  They also make an amazingly delicious protein powder that I use for shakes, pancakes, waffles and many other things! Their protein powder comes in two flavors – vanilla & chocolate.

It can be known as the pomegranate, Chinese apple, the ‘what is that thing you are eating’ and by many other names.  One thing IPomegranate03_edit know is that this piece of fruit is so delicious! More times than not when I am eating one I get asked ‘what is that?’ or ‘how do you eat that?’ and my reply is simple.  I just do!  I love to sit for a while eating it seed by seed rather than take it apart and eat it the easy way. The pomegranate is a super delicious superfood that is filled with antioxidants and vitamins.  It is great for your heart and can help reduce cholesterol.  I say, go out and grab yourself one of these delicious and nutritious fruits!

Until next time.
xo
Mandi

Leave a Reply

