Freekeh Foods + Giveaway

Hi everyone!  It has been a while since my last update.  Things over the past few months have been busy to say the least.  Aside from planning a wedding which has taken up a bunch of time my fiance and I also purchased our first home which we are slowly getting together in.  I hope to start updating this page a bit more often now that the wedding is nearing (75 more days!) and our home is nearly finished for now.  Well that is until we start some renovations that need to be done.  Now onto the fun part!

Recently, thanks to Fit Approach and Sweat Pink I was able to try out a product called Freekeh Foods.  I had never heard of it but upon reading up I realized that this looks like a really interesting product and I really needed to try it out.  If you were chosen for this review you had to pick 2 flavors of the 3 they offered.  This included Original, Rosemary Sage, and Tamari. I chose Original & Rosemary Sage because I felt they fit my taste best.

I have been able to cook with both of the chosen within the past few weeks.  Both myself and my fiance really enjoyed it.  We had a veggie stirfry with using Freekeh instead of quinoa or rice.  This was an option several times.

This past week I made us stuffed peppers for lunch.  I also replaced the usual rice or quinoa with Freekeh.  Because I was having memory issues with my phone the only photo I have is of the stuffed pepper with the Freekeh in it.  It was filled with a ton of veggies including carrots, green beans, and corn.  I also added some black beans to the mix.  To keep it from drying out while cooking I added some organic no sugar added tomato sauce.  I topped it with a little cheese (about 1-1.5 blue containers from the 21 Day Fix program)
unnamed

So what is Freekeh you ask?  Straight from their website here is some information.
So glad you asked! Freekeh is a process which means “to rub” in Arabic. Freekeh was created by accident nearly 2,000 years ago when a Middle Eastern village was attacked and their crop of young green wheat was set ablaze. Most folks would sulk over their misfortune, but the crafty villagers rubbed off the chaff, cooked it up and “Eureka!” Freekeh was created.  It is USDA Organic Certified as well as NON GMO Project Verified.

This product is so versatile and can be used to replace any rice or quinoa in your favorite recipes.

A little bit more information about this deliciously tasty product:(from their website)

Freekeh is a wheat product & therefore contains gluten.

Yes, Freekeh contains gluten—but because of when the wheat is harvested and processed, the gluten is denatured.  Some people find that Freekeh has fewer side effects than other wheat products; however, keep in mind that Freekeh still contains gluten.

How does Freekeh compare to other grains?

Freekeh has up to three times the fiber and protein found in brown rice, and fewer calories than quinoa and white rice.

Freekeh is a great choice to use in recipes you already enjoy—the cook times are comparable to brown rice, so it’s easy to choose Freekeh!

Now onto the giveaway!  It will be very simple to win a bag of the flavor of your choice.  Follow the following steps –

  1. Post the following image to your Instagram account
  2. Tag AND follow both myself @sweetestberrytiu and @freekehfoods on Instagram
  3. Use the following 2 hash tags #getyourfreekehon and #sweetestberryFREEKEH
  4. Tag 2 friends in the comment section of the photo that I will post to my Instagram @sweetestberrytiu
  5. It is not required but please also like them on Facebook and follow them on Twitter!

All entries that are added through Saturday August 29th at NOON will be entered to win.

Good luck to all participants.

Here is the photo to use for the entry –

PicMonkey Collage

Leave a Reply

