Delicious Turkey Meatballs

If you have been following me on Instagram you know that next Monday I start the Whole30 diet, or better yet, lifestyle.  This diet eliminates many of the foods I have been eating a lot of over the past few years while living a pescetarian lifestyle.  In order to complete the Whole30 to the full extent I need to reintroduce meat to my diet.  Since we were away a few weeks ago on our honeymoon I began experimenting mostly while we were in Greece (our hotel had a breakfast and dinner buffet so I could try a little bit of what I wanted).  I felt perfectly fine from everything I ate and was really happy about that.

The Whole30 book says you can do this as a vegetarian and pescetarian but I really wanted to give it the full treatment.  I stopped eating meat because I didn’t like how I feel and for that reason only.  Because of that I wanted to try bringing it back into my diet.  This week I will be having turkey and chicken and last week I did try a little bit of red meat.  I don’t plan to have much red meat in general and even during Whole30 but it is an option should I wish to take it.

This past weekend I made my first meat item in almost 3 years.  I started with Turkey Meatballs that turned out AMAZING!  These can actually be made into a Whole30 protein if you take out one of the ingredients (oats) that I added to soak up the liquid I put in.  I added a bit too much….I told you it has been a while since I last made meatballs and cooked with meat!

If you would like to follow my Whole30 journey please head over to my IG – @MandiElyse_TIU

125

Ingredients
– 1 package of ground turkey
– 2 eggs
– 1/4 cup tomato sauce (read the label to make sure Whole30 approved) – I watered down the sauce a little with a few tablespoons so use your best judgement.
– 1/2 large or 1 small red bell pepper diced
– 1/8-1/4c oats
– 1/4 cup dried cranberries (for W30 approved make sure they are NOT sweetened with sugar and juice is used – ie: apple)
– Italian Zest Flavor God Seasoning
– S&P to taste

147

Combine all ingredients together and form into meat ball shape.  Place on a parchment paper lined baking and into a 350 degree oven.  I baked mine for about 25-30 minutes or until they look cooked.  2-3 of these is a nice size portion.

One thought on “Delicious Turkey Meatballs

  1. This looks so tasty, i will definitely try the recipe. Thanks for sharing!
    Happy New Year!
    ヽ(>∀<☆)ノ o(≧▽≦)o (☆ω☆) (っ˘ω˘ς )
    \( ̄▽ ̄)/ (*¯︶¯*) \(^▽^)/

Leave a Reply

