Roasted Root Vegetables – Recipe

I am a summer obsessed girl.  I love all things summer.  The sun.  The heat.  The pool.  Having BBQs.  Fun outdoor adventures.  The beach and everything in between.

That being said I am all about the fall because of the delicious scents and foods that appear in the stores during that time of year.  This past weekend I went to buy new hand soap at Bath & Body Works and of course the entire bag was filled with fall scents!

When I decided last week I was going to make this dish it made me slightly sad because it screams fall, changing leaves, cooler temperatures, and shorter days.  I did have the intentions to make it because I wanted to use up some straggling ingredients in the kitchen. 

Telling my husband I made this for us to eat he immediately said “it is still summer and this is a fall dish.”  I told him I knew that and then gave him the above information about using up some things in the kitchen.  The smell of nutmeg and cinnamon coming from the oven is like nothing else (well maybe chocolate chip cookies smell better but those won’t be coming from my oven any time soon!).

This is a very simple recipe that can be enjoyed by all!

unnamed 2

Ingredients
3 Sweet Potatoes
6 Carrots
4 Red Potatoes
1/4-1/2 cup Raisins
Cinnamon
Nutmeg
**You can also use parsnips, any other type of potato or root vegetable.

You can vary the amount of each item you use depending on taste preference and how many people.  This was enough for 2 people for a week (we did not eat every day).

Directions
1. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a sil-pat.
2. Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.
3.  Cut all root vegetables into bite size pieces and lay out on the baking sheet. unnamed
4. Sprinkle the raisins all around the sheet.
5.  Add desired amount of cinnamon & nutmeg so that all pieces are lightly covered.
6.  Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes.  You can cook longer if browned pieces are desired.

I hope you enjoy!  Let me know what you think in the comments.  What are your favorite recipes involving fall vegetables?

If you like this recipe please share it with your friends!

Leave a Reply

