Chicken Sofrito – Whole 30 Approved

About 2 weeks ago my husband came home with a recipe from work that he wanted to make for our January Whole 30.  I was all for it since it was one less thing I had to make.

I gave him some of the chicken that I was planning to use for something else and we swapped it out for this.  The marinade we used is called a sofrito (Caribbean and Latin American sauce of tomatoes, onions, peppers, garlic, and herbs).

I purchased the ingredients that he needed from the store and he got down to business.  I wanted to share this recipe with you because it was so delicious!  We did make a few tweaks to the original recipe, and yes, I will share both with you, because some of the ingredients I do not like or can not tolerate.  The recipe is NOT spicy but I am sure you can add spice to it if that is your thing.  The other thing about this recipe is that there is no measurements so I will do my best to give an approximation.

Ingredients (original recipe)
– 1 tsp Coriander
– Cilantro
– 10 Garlic cloves
– 1 Green Pepper
– 1 Red Pepper
– 1 Onion
– 1 stick of celery
– 1 tsp Oregano
– 1/4 cup Oil

 

Ingredients (we used)
– 1 tsp Coriander
– 3 tbsp chopped Garlic
– 2 Red Peppers (not a green pepper fan)
– 1 Onion
– 1 stick of Celery
– 1 tsp Oregano
– 1/4 cup Oil

**We did not use cilantro because there isn’t much that I dislike more than this ingredient.  Celery is also on that list but because it is blended I couldn’t see/taste it.

Directions
1 – Chop the garlic (if not already), the peppers, onion, and celery.
2 – Place all ingredients into a blender until they are well mixed and you have a substance that is a bit liquidy (sorry I know that isn’t a word!)
3 – When done he put the chicken in a zip top bag and added the sofrito and mixed it up.  It sat in the fridge for a few hours to make sure everything was well incorporated.
4 – We chose to cook the chicken in the oven by placing it on a baking cooling rack on top of a lined cookie tray.
5 – Set the oven to 350 degrees and cook for about 20 minutes or until the chicken is done.  The pieces were not thick so it didn’t need too much time.

123

Because this is not my cooking I did not get to take all the photos I wanted.  You can see the chicken as I was about ready to eat it paired with Moroccan Cauliflower Rice (Whole 30 Cookbook) and Green Beans, Onion, and Red Pepper mix.

One thought on “Chicken Sofrito – Whole 30 Approved

  1. Pingback: Whole 30 – Week 3 Recap | Mandi Elyse

Leave a Reply

